BIG BOOKS (small snacks)

by the Pretzel Girlz

VERSE

You scrawled me in a notebook with a ballpoint pen

Words tripping over themselves … and then

A story, a scene, two star-crossed kids

The moments were small but the feelings were big

YODEL

CHORUS

I’m a … BIG BOOK, a BIG BOOK

Commercial appeal  and a strong hook

Totally worth a … second look

I’m a BIG BOOK … A BIG BOOK

VERSE

Just a small town book on the streets of New York

All those Frankfurt deals, all that industry talk

I’m the toast of the town and the clink of a glass

Another round of canapes? Baby please don’t pass

YODEL

CHORUS

I’m a … BIG BOOK, a BIG BOOK

Commercial appeal  and a strong hook

All those people give me a … second look

I’m a BIG BOOK … A BIG BOOK

RAP

The bit about the buzz and the honey and the money

Got some green for my flower and its nectar’s all runny

If you want the bee’s knees get the words with the power

Get the agent, get the cash

Meetings every half hour

On the floor of the fair with the big cash purse

It’s my economic world and it’s not reversed

I pay for my bling with subsidiary rights

got more translations than Arabian Nights

Darnton taught the world to communicate me

Those French bookbinders press hard on my leaves

I’m the codex with the most (sex), 

The brains and the claps

Feast your eyes on this 

My … French …  flaps

I’m a BIG BIG BOOK

Books are made of words

Words are made of letters

Let me spell it out so you understand it better

I’m a B-I-G- B-O-O-K

And I’m best consumed like a canape

Pack me in your backpack with your small snacks

A to Zee

Let’s go…..

Anchovy, asparagus, apple if you’re dull

Baby burgers, bonbons, carrot sticks if… you… must?

Devilled Eggs, French Toast, Frankfurter…

Gradalvax, Garnish (Cmon we’re still not FULL)

I’m a comet, you’re the long tail

The winner takes all, you’re gonna fail

You’re the wrong genre, the wrong demographic

You’ll never be a hit, you’ll never be a classic

(New York Times bestseller list baby)

You’re in the wrong language

You don’t have the networks

Your publisher is small

They publish… digital first?

I’ve got my feet on the table

A veritable Babel

I make the world spin off its axis

Yo – check your citational practice!

Winner takes all

you’re a loser

You’ve got bad track

Let me tell you more

…about the snacks…

Vol-au-Vent

Wonton

eXtra special cheese

Yodel (YODEL)

Zebra bread

More and more PLEASE

The buzz is growing

The fizz is flowing

This marketing campaign

Needs more champagne

I’m a mega-bestseller

I’m one of the greats

Sally Rooney is pally

Colleen Hoover’s a mate

I’m the Book of the Fair, Fifty Shades of Great

Like Michelle Obama, paper shortage I’ll create…

I’m a B-I-G- B-O-O-K

And I’m best consumed like a canape

VERSE

My name is in lights in the literary pages

Adaptations on screen and the world’s bright stages

You shove me in your backpack; you read me on the bus

You debate me with wine; it is all about us

YODEL

CHORUS

I’m a … BIG BOOK, a BIG BOOK

Commercial appeal  and a strong hook

Everyone takes a … second look

I’m a BIG BOOK … A BIG BOOK

OUTRO

Big books don’t lie and my story is true

My nectar is sweet and the buzz is from you… and you… and you…

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close